Happy 25th Birthday Valley Girl.

Martha Coolidge's 1983 directorial debut, based loosely on the Frank and Moon Zappa (who weren't involved with the film) novelty hit of the previous year, carried a budget so low that it didn't even generate a soundtrack album when it was released. Based on the same general themes as Romeo and Juliet, Valley Girl, "a film littered with spot on captures of 80s youth," was Nicolas Coppola's debut as Nicolas Cage.

Valley Girl's producers were also savvy enough to tap into LA radio outlet KROQ's pioneering "Rock of the 80s" format, and Rhino's unofficial soundtrack release captures much of the spunky essence of KROQ. The music from Valley Girl "fondly recalls an era when rock's fun quotient hadn't yet been tattooed and pierced into oblivion."

Track List:
1. A Million Miles Away - The Plimsouls
2. Johnny, Are You Queer? - Josie Cotton
3. Eyes Of A Stranger - Payolas
4. Angst In My Pants - Sparks
5. Who Can It Be Now? - Men At Work
6. Everywhere At Once - The Plimsouls
7. I La La La Love You - Pat Travers' Black Pearl
8. He Could Be The One - Josie Cotton
9. Love My Way - Psychedelic Furs
10. Jukebox (Don't Put Another Dime) - The Flirts
11. The Fanatic - Felony
12. She Talks In Stereo - Gary Myrick & The Figures
13. Oldest Story In The World - The Plimsouls
14. School Is In - Josie Cotton
15. I Melt With You - Modern English

Material: Jerry McCulley via amazon.com & Truly Dazzlin' via amazon.com